In which I talk about why vids are cool and give a shameless plug.

Soooo…. Hi. I’ll get the obligatory “I’m not actually dead” stuff out of the way right up front: I’m not actually dead. Okie dokie? Moving on.

I seem to find myself between jobs with an alarming amount of regularity, which means that I’ve had a lot of downtime lately. So what have I been doing, you ask? Well, job searching, doing chores, hassling my former employers about giving me the paycheck they owe me, and generally being a worthless slug.

For me, being a worthless slug involves a lot of Youtube.

Now, ever since I first found out about Youtube back in the day I’ve been fascinated with fan-made tribute music videos. You know, the things where fans take footage from a film or TV show, edit the footage, and set it to music. Partly I like them because they’re cool and fun, but they’re also fascinating from a media studies/postmodernist/artistic perspective (not to mention copyright… but I won’t go there). You’re taking two completely separate works of art – the film and the song – and mashing them together to make a completely new work of art that actually functions as commentary on both of the originals, or even uses the originals to bring a message across that the originals didn’t necessarily intend. It’s subversive, creative yet derivative, actually requires a lot of talent, is a fascinating (and new!) use of the medium of film, and I could go on and on, but the point is I really think these videos are cool. Feast your eyes on the following exhibits:

Unnatural Selection – Battlestar Gallactica/Terminator (warning for possibly disturbing content)

Dexter – Seeing Red (Dexter/Brian) (another warning for possibly disturbing content… it’s Dexter for crying out loud)

Lord of the Rings – Watchtower

Doctor Who – In the Skin of the Universe

Whedonverse – If it Gives You Joy

Firefly – Everybody’s Gone to War

River Tam – Fractured

Avatar – End of the Day

Castle – Hardest of Hearts

Harry Potter – No Bravery

That’s just a small sampling of the awesomeness.

So the next step, of course, is to start making them. Now, I tried this a while back with a crappy version of Windows Movie Maker and even crappier footage, and I ended up making a few videos that I was pretty proud of, considering my crappy resources. But the program kept crashing and wasn’t capable of much, my footage looked terrible, and it was a pain in the butt, so I stopped.

Several years, a new computer, and an ill-advised fit of splurging on Sony Vegas later, and I finally end up with the equipment/software that I need, so I’ve been vidding again. Now, so far I’ve only been able to get footage from Angel in a workable format, so that’s what I’ve been focusing on, but I’m sure other fandoms will follow shortly. But Angel is providing pretty sufficient fodder for now, and I’m really enjoying it, and I am ridiculously proud of the videos I’ve made so far.

So I’m sharing. And I’m a total feedback glutton, so let me know what you think.

First, a remake of my first ever video from the WMM days, focused on Angel/us and Cordelia. And I’m going to hope really hard that nobody notices that I spelled Cordy’s name wrong in the intro…

Next, a trailer for the whole series

Then a video focusing on the relationship between Angel and Spike

Then a tribute/character study for Charles Gunn

And finally, a general tribute to the series

I have a few more planned, including character studies for Lorne, Connor, and Wesley, a relationship study for Angel and Cordy, and a few more general vids.

~ by ntertanedangel on February 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
