Deathly Hallows Review

I just got back from seeing Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I, and I wanted to write down my thoughts while they’re still fresh. I might write up something more in-depth later, but here’s my off-the-cuff reaction. (Spoiler alert!)

harry_potter_and_the_deathly_hallows_part_one

I loved it. It was by far the most faithful to the book, both in content and in tone, but it does so in a way that works cinematically. I was also pleasantly surprised at how many things that I assumed would be cut weren’t (like Charity Burbage) and how well they handled the Ministry scene, the Tale of the Three Brothers, and Dobby’s death. I don’t know what I would have thought of it if I hadn’t read the book first, but –dare I say it?—I think it does the book justice, and as a massive fan of the book, that’s really the make-or-break point for me.

The cinematography was great, the acting was great, the music complemented the action (I can’t say much about the quality of the music because I wasn’t paying attention to that), and it was well edited.

Some minor quibbles:

  • They didn’t explore Dumbledore’s backstory or Harry’s doubts in Dumbledore nearly enough. Grindelwald sort-of pops up out of nowhere, and we’re left wondering who the heck he is, why Bathilda has a picture of him, and why he’s in a book about Dumbledore. Maybe they’ll explain this in part 2, but, well… it should have been explained in part 1.
  • I felt like a lot of the scenes that were really weighty in the book didn’t have enough time spent on them—like Godric’s Hollow and the Silver Doe—but I don’t know if they could have pulled that off without it dragging on. This isn’t so much a complaint as a “I’ll have to see what I think the second time around” comment.
  • They never explain the Taboo, which wouldn’t be a big deal if they hadn’t used it at Xenophelius’ house
  • Xenophelius wasn’t crazy enough
  • We needed some more Ginny and/or more distress at leaving Ginny behind. Also, the back of her head a kiss does not make…
  • they never explain where the mirror came from (but you can’t really blame them I guess)
  • I’m not sure what i think about the house elves being used for comic relief.
  • Wormtail didn’t kill himself
  • Too many post-apparition shots panning up from the ground.

So, yeah, I think it’s probably my favorite HP film so far, but we’ll see what I think after the buzz has worn off a bit. I hope to see it again sometime soon, but I don’t know exactly when.

What did you think?

~ by ntertanedangel on November 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
