Aimin’ to Misbehave

Well… here we are.

Welcome everybody to my new blog in which I will be discussing fiction of all sorts from a philosophical/ethical/religious point of view.  This blog came about as a result of me finishing college with a stack of papers that I had written about Harry Potter, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, His Dark Materials, Serenity, etc. and feeling like I ought to do something with them, but also wanting to write more. Thus, the first couple entries will likely come directly from my past work, but hopefully I’ll soon be able to expand into new territory. I have no idea how long I’ll be able to keep this up or how regularly I’ll be able to post, but we’ll figure that out when we get there.

A little about me: I’m a recent graduate from the University of Puget Sound where I majored in Religion with a focus on ethics and minored in Math (weird combo, I know). I’m a Christian, but I don’t fit neatly into any one denomination– I’m perhaps closest to being a very liberal Presbyterian. I’m a crazy huge fan of J.K. Rowling and Joss Whedon, so be prepared to see a lot of posts (and inside jokes) on them, but I’m pretty picky in general about what kinds of fiction I like– I like to read deep, not wide.

As should be obvious from my header, the name of this blog comes from the masterpiece of a movie Serenity. If you haven’t seen that movie, stop reading and go watch it. No really, watch it. Now. I’ll wait.

Okay, good. So, in Serenity River looks in her dream through a window and onto an unknown world, Miranda. An unknown world that holds the truth as to why she is the way she is. This is pretty common metaphor for fiction or imagination– looking into a new world– but what I like about River’s window is that it corresponds to reality (her reality, at least). She sees a dream world and is thus able to pinpoint more accurately the reality of her own. That is, I think, the point of imaginative fiction– not to escape the real world, but to see the real world from a new angle, and thus to know it better. Fiction is, in this view, insanely important, and it is from this perspective that I am going to attempt to examine various stories, hence the title (also, I just can’t resist plugging Joss Whedon and Summer Glau).

I want this blog to be as interactive as possible, so please let me know what you think, what you want me to talk about, why you think I’m off my rocker, etc.

Umm… ya. I guess I’ve rambled enough. I feel like I should end by saying something like “two by two, hands of blue,” but that doesn’t seem to fit.

~ by ntertanedangel on May 25, 2010.

One Response to “Aimin’ to Misbehave”

  1. thanks for the peep inside your thinker. I look forward to deep thinks to keep me thinking, too.

Leave a Reply

 
